News Press Release

CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX stream new album, ‘Great Escape’

International dark rock collective CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX are streaming their brand new album, ‘Great Escape’. The follow-up to 2016’s towering full-length ‘Bronze’, ‘Great Escape’ sees the international collective blend passion and purpose with their dark and dreamy post-rock in an altogether different way. Their beauty is deceptive; the vast, sweeping songs weave sophistication and grandeur with dire warnings about a world spinning out of control. CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX truly have no equal; their music fits everywhere and nowhere at once, and ‘Great Escape’ is a beautiful, ominous, and stunning work of outsider art.

‘Great Escape’ is streaming now at Prog Magazine: – also embedded below:

CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX will release ‘Great Escape’ this week on September 14. The album is available at the Season of Mist E-Shop:

Regarding the album stream, Mastermind Justin Greaves comments: “Great Escape was born from a place of resignation to stressful and painful things, like holding my hands up and shouting “I don’t care anymore, I just want out of this” … Which then opened the door to a lot of other topics which relate to this state of mind, and these topics are what fueled this album.
Whether it’s internal struggles, or things in the wide world that make us despair, or wanting to help the voiceless animals escape human tyranny, most people can relate to escapism in different forms.

‘Great Escape’ is not an album of singles to achieve maximum popularity, but then no CBP album is. Sonically it’s true CBP and I hope fans get that old familiar misery -vs- hope vibe. Stick on the headphones and turn it up! There’s some very cool stuff happening under the surface of the songs.

I’ll just leave it there along with this quote from Alan Watts which sums up a lot of what this album represents:

“As soon as we are born we are labeled; name, race, nationality, family, status… We are inserted into a story not of our making. As soon as we start walking and exploring the majestic world around us we are told ‘oh, but you must go to school now! You must finish school to go to high school. You must finish high school to go to college. You must master a degree so you can get a good job. You must work hard so you can be promoted. You must make a family. You must buy a house. You must… you must… you must…’ Until you retire. And then what?” ”

The artwork and track list for ‘Great Escape’ can be found below:

1.You Brought It Upon Yourselves
2. To You I Give
3. Uncivil War (Pt. I)
4. Madman
5. Times, They Are A Raging
6. Rain Black, Reign Heavy
7. Slow Motion Breakdown
8. Nebulas
9. Las Diabolicas
10. Great Escape (Pt. I)
11. Great Escape (Pt. II)
12. Hunok Csataja *
13. Uncivil War (pt I & II) *
* Denotes exclusive bonus tracks only available in the deluxe double CD hardcover media book of ‘Great Escape’, which also includes extra art.

Founded by multi-instrumentalist Justin Greaves, the inimitable CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX have earned a large cult following on the backs of their extensive catalog.

Oct. 5 Leiden, NL @ Gebr de Nobel
Oct. 6 Köln, DE @ Euroblast Festival
Oct. 8 Bratislava, SK @ Kulturak w/The Devil’s Trade
Oct. 09 Timisoara, RO @ Capcana w/The Devil’s Trade
Oct. 10 Bucharest, RO @ Quantic w/The Devil’s Trade
Oct. 11 Sofia, BG @ Mixtape5 w/The Devil’s Trade
Oct. 12 Thessaloniki, GR @ Eightball w/The Devil’s Trade
Oct. 13 Athens, GR @ Temple w/The Devil’s Trade