News Press Release

Brant Bjork (ex-Kyuss): New LP, ‘Mankind Woman’, Streaming in Full

Legendary California-based singer, songwriter, multi-instrumentalist and founding member of Kyuss, Brant Bjork, will release his new album, Mankind Woman, on September 14 via Heavy Psych Sounds Records. The LP, Bjork’s thirteenth solo effort, was engineered by Yosef Sanborn and tracked at Twentynine Palms, CA’s Zainaland, a creative Villa owned by Brant’s wife, Zaina. With Mankind Woman, Brant Bjork once again delivers a record that reminds the listener that it is often the ingredients of jazz, blues, and funk that makes rock music feel so good.

In advance of the new record’s release, REVOLVER premieres Mankind Woman in full, adding, “he’s still got the chops to rock after a quarter century at the center of Southern California underground music.” Stream Brant Bjork’s Mankind Woman at this location:

Mankind Woman is an instant-mindset-transformer, a testament to the formative decades of song and sound and an album that begs to be revisited on hot summer nights. The record marks the very first time in his career that Bjork has collaborated with a singular producer and co-writer, Bubba Dupree, guitarist and friend from his Low Desert Punk Band and six-stringer for American hardcore punk band, Void.

The resulting 11-track recording blossoms with moments of light and shade, loud and soft. It’s a collection of songs that sounds more like an effortless, unpretentious melding of jazz, R&B and rock steeped in California desert organics with friendly feels and deep grooves. The record features guest appearances from bass player Armand Secco Sabal, vocalist Sean Wheeler, who has been a touring member of the Low Desert Punk Band, and former Kyuss bandmate Nick Oliveri.

In additional news, Brant Bjork has announced a fall North American tour run in support of Mankind Woman. The ten city trek, which will launch October 5 with shows in Mexico, Canada and California, will include shows with Earthless and Nebula. The just-announced itinerary is as follows:

Brant Bjork tour dates:

October 5 Calgary, AB The Palomino
October 6 Edmonton, AB Free Mason Hall (Brant Bjork DJ set ONLY)
October 7 Edmonton, AB The Starlite (w/ Earthess)
October 9 San Diego, CA Spacebar
October 10 Los Angeles, CA The Redwood (w/ Nebula)
October 11 Las Vegas, NV Vamp’d
October 12 Pioneertown, CA Pappy & Harriets (w/ Nebula)
October 13 Long Beach, CA Alex’s Bar (w/ Earthless)
October 16 Hermosillo, Mexico Pizza Del Perro Negro (w/ Sgt. Papers)
October 18 Merida, Mexico) Pizza Del Perro Negro
October 20 Mexico City, Mexico Rabioso / Pizza Del Perro Negro

Track listing:

1.) Chocolatize
2.) Lazy Wizards
3.) Charlie Gin
4.) Mankind Woman
5.) Pisces
6.) Swagger & Sway
7.) Somebody
8.) Pretty Hairy
9.) Brand New Old Times
10.) 1968
11.) Nation Of Indica